An extension of gap fill around the room. Instead of a matchup on a sheet, you could get everyone out of their seats with a treasure hunt. Hide a lot of TL words around the classroom and have students hunt for the words they need. This could be used with a gap fill, reading comprehension questions, matchup activities…

Before doing this activity I would recommend spending a few minutes going over the rules of the game with the students to avoid your room being torn apart! My rules are:

  • Only one person per team out of seat at once.
  • Don’t move the words you find.
  • You don’t need to touch anything to find the words.
  • The words are not hidden on or behind my desk, inside cupboards/drawers/books.
About Eleanor Gordon

Jobseeker with an interest in the arts, trained in languages and education.

3 responses »

  1. Anonymous says:

    very good advice to have those ground rules set! The first time I tried something along these lines there were one or two very active students and lots of lazy teenagers sitting down with labels in front of them…!!

    • Oh dear! Now I think about it, this has worked best with my younger students, I have not tried it with any groups older than Y9 (14-15 year olds). Has anyone had any success with this type of thing with older students?

  2. issacgreaves says:

    I have done it with my GCSE classes at my school now and on the PGCE, just set the ground rules – they love active learning!

What do you think?

