Have a load of pictures of vocabulary you are drilling on the board.

You point to a picture and say the vocabulary.  If you’ve said the right word, the students need to repeat it.  If you said the wrong word, the students need to not repeat it!  I always start by doing a first round of the words all being correct to remind students of the correct vocabulary.

If they don’t get caught out (and stay quiet), they get a point.

If one member of the class repeats the wrong word (as inevitably happens), you get a point. Aim is for the class to beat you.  Simple?  Not really, as some kids will then start dropping the others in it just for fun by shouting out words they know are wrong!

The aim for you as a teacher, is to get students repeating the correct vocabulary as much as possible and not the incorrect!

About misstdunne

I'm a French and Spanish teacher with a passion for ICT. My blog seems to be mainly how-to-guides and reviews of things I find useful, but who knows how it will develop in the future! Views are my own, not my employer's.

One response »

  1. issacgreaves says:

    I do this as ‘beat the teacher’ to increase competition aspect. 1 point for each time the students get it right, 3 points if I try to trick them and it doesn’t work. 5 points if I do trick them :0)

What do you think?

