Irregular preterites = difficult to learn.

Tactic 1 – the song, which I heard being sung around the corridors for days afterwards!

I got the kids to note down in rough as many stems as they could and then we wrote them all on the board and tried to match up with the infinitives

Tactic 2 – the table, which this blog post is about.

Irregular preterites generally involve copying a table of some form.  To make this a bit more interesting, I made 5 or 6 versions of the table, all with a few different parts of each verb filled in.  Get them to fill in the blanks out of a text book = mega dull.  Get them to fill in the blanks by copying off everyone else around them, having to hunt out the missing forms and copying them = mega fun.

A class of 31 kids had the full table of irregular verbs copied in about 4 minutes.  They were all boys, so mega competitive, with some hiding their sheet to stop others copying!!

I then got them to double check with a correct version…

About misstdunne

I'm a French and Spanish teacher with a passion for ICT. My blog seems to be mainly how-to-guides and reviews of things I find useful, but who knows how it will develop in the future! Views are my own, not my employer's.

One response »

  1. I’ve done this copying-gapfill idea in a few classes now and they do enjoy it! Top post…

What do you think?

